Chicago Black Hawks: 49 year drought ends

June 10, 2010

2010 Stanley Cup Champs photo by John J. Kim/Sun Times

Long suffering Chicago Black Hawks fans can rejoice. Last night they won their first Stanley Cup in 49 years. The last time they hoisted the cup was the 1960-61 NHL season. That year Bobby Hull, Stan Mikita, Glenn Hall, and Pierre Pilote led them to the championship. 

The Hawks have had many opportunities to win since 1961, but haven’t been able to finish it off. Since the 1961 championship the team has reached the finals 5 times and lost every time. Here is their record in the modern era from 1960 to present. 

1960-61  won over Detroit Red Wings
1961-62  lost to Toronto Maple Leafs
1964-65  lost to Montreal Canadiens
1970-71  lost to Montreal Canadiens
1972-73  lost to Montreal Canadiens
1991-92  lost to Pittsburgh Penguins
2009-10  won over Philadelphia Flyers

Congratulations to the Chicago Black Hawks and their fans for a well played final and a well-deserved victory.


%d bloggers like this: