70th Anniversary of World War II

wwii_book_valor_lgToday is the 70th anniversary of the beginning of the Second World War. The worst conflict of the 20th century the effects of which changed the world we live in today. It’s been described as the last “good” war because it was clear to everyone what we were fighting for, good versus evil.

Veterans of this war are dying everyday. We are rapidly losing our direct connections to this time. My father and two of his brothers served. His youngest brother paid the ultimate price.

It’s important in my opinion not to forget those who fought and especially those who gave their lives in the cause of freedom.

I’m fascinated with the stories of those who fought. It’s amazing to me how they suffered through it and got the job done. I’m not all that interested in generals and vast battle plans. I love to read about the men on the front lines, the average soldier. That’s who won the war.

I like to recommend the following for reading,

The War by Ken Burns (companion to the PBS Series)
Band of Brothers by Stephen Ambrose
Citizen Soldiers by Stephen Ambrose
The Greatest Generation by Tom Brokaw

4 Responses to 70th Anniversary of World War II

  1. Ana says:

    I feel the same as you, I feel it is important to remember the human history and development as that is where the real change took place, in the eyes of those who fought.

    It is quite amazing in the sense that it is frightening that more people today don’t recognise history, and appreciate it. I think that if we start loosing touch of it, we may never understand where we are now as humans and I feel that is as precious as reconnecting with our inner selfs.

    I love history, I find it amazingly fascinating and I love to hear real stories about those involved in the many experiences during different eras. I hope our children will look back, and ask us about our hardships in this new life, like we ask our elders.

    Thank you for the kind mention of remembrance.

    That book looks amazingly interesting. 🙂

  2. stamperdad says:

    Thanks for the comments. Glad you liked the post.

  3. Goldenrod says:

    I second all of your recommendations for further reading, Steve.

    Sometimes, this war seems like a century (or more) ago … at other times, it seems like just yesterday.

    Wars – and their outcome – prove nothing, really, in the long run, do they?

    What I feel, deep inside, at this point is sadness and loss. Not victory. What did ‘we’ gain? A momentary continuation in the stream of this fast-moving planet’s “democratic/freedom-loving” river of life?

    Sometimes, I feel as tho there are not enuf people left anymore who care – really care.

    Like you, however, I sincerely hope that we NEVER forget those who gave their lives – and those who gave other parts of their bodies, but who are still here and need (as well as their families) our monetary support, love, care and concern.

    A wonderful post, Steve. Thought-provoking!

Please feel free to leave a comment. Be kind.

