A Father on Father’s Day

I loved my Dad and I miss him. It’s been five years since he passed. This Sunday the loss of him will pull at me again. The last few years whenever I saw him I always hugged him and told him I loved him. Growing up I didn’t do those things a lot. I’m glad I did later on. 

Father’s aren’t perfect. God knows we make lots of mistakes, but it’s so important for children to have a strong father-figure in their lives. 

No matter what’s transpired during the day I always tell my kids I love them when I arrive home from work and at bedtime. 

As a father I thrive on the love I receive in return. To love and be truly loved back is what life is all about. 

Daughters especially seem to need the love of fathers. I have four daughters, two are grown up now, and two are growing up. The greatest mistake of my life was letting one of them down in a big way when she needed me. It’s something I’ll regret the rest of my life. Dads make mistakes. With the support of my loving wife I’ve worked hard at learning from my mistakes and improving as a person and a father. 

Sons need their fathers, but differently than girls. Fathers must work hard to be good role models for sons. Sometimes I don’t realize how much my son loves me until I see how he is trying hard to emulate me. At those times the impact I’m making on him as a father becomes very clear. 

Being a father is a huge responsibility. I’m working hard to be a good one. I love you kids.

7 Responses to A Father on Father’s Day

  1. Cindy says:

    I know how you feel. I miss my Dad too. There seems never to be enough time. Cindy xoxo

  2. stamperdad says:

    Thanks for the comments my friends.

    I did have a wonderful day.

    Steve

  3. Pappy says:

    Great post. Those are some good reminders. Pappy

  4. Goldenrod says:

    I am far from an expert in the field of psychology and fatherhood, but one thing I have learned and know for sure is that a child’s sense of self/self-worth is derived from his/her father. I’ve written posts on this subject before (and will again, but these kinds of posts take a whole lot out of me, as I just pour my heart and soul into them) – and almost always from a very personal perspective – but it seems to me, Steve, that you might consider stopping already with the guilt trip on yourself.

    So it happened. So you failed. But that was then and this is now.

    What shows through loud and clear – at least, from my perspective – in your posts is your deep love and concern not only for your family but for all of mankind. What shows through is your constant searching to be a better person, to be a better father, a better husband, a better friend.

    Happy Father’s Day, dear blogger friend, and I pray that your heart and mind and soul will feel some of the warmth and love that surrounds you.

Please feel free to leave a comment. Be kind.

