Inauguration 2009 – Commentary

1789_washington_use
1789, Washington Inauguration

As a Canadian watching the inaugural celebrations held in Washington and throughout the United States yesterday, one thing struck me.

Peaceful transistion of power. How many other countries in the world see the incumbant head-of-state quietly and voluntarily leave the highest post in the country, to be succeeded immediately by the next head-of-state.

I believe the Founding Fathers of the United States wanted the inauguration to be a public demonstration of the effectiveness of the Constitution. A clear message to the American people and the rest of the world that democracy is alive and well.

1981, Reagan

1981, 1st Reagan Inauguration

To the American people, you have succeeded. To the outgoing president, your service to your country is appreciated. To the incoming president, may you succeed in addressing the problems facing you.

This Canadian appreciates the demonstration of democracy by my neighbor and best friend, America.

12 Responses to Inauguration 2009 – Commentary

  1. It’s an awesome piece of writing for all the internet viewers; they will get benefit from
    it I am sure.

  2. This website says:

    This website

    Inauguration 2009 – Commentary | WRITINGS & RAMBLINGS

  3. Tanya says:

    You can then ask questions like why this goal is important to them.
    These sensitive souls need something more gentle, say stretching exercises.
    Fast digestible carbs fliip one’s bofy into absorption mode.

  4. Very good blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a
    paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed ..
    Any ideas? Cheers!

  5. stamperdad says:

    Thanks to all for reading and the comments. Always appreciated.

    Steve

  6. Goldenrod says:

    I just (hopefully) fixed my URL address so you can check out my blog if you wish. Trying again here.

  7. Goldenrod says:

    Hi! Am a new member of Absolute Write, and have been spending hours and hours going through their blogs. Will be adding yours to my “Favorites” list. (BTW, I’m on p. 47 … when I get to the current date, I’ll scroll through some other AW threads, and see what else I can add to further clutter and spice up my life!)

  8. Kip de Moll says:

    It was a great day, and the peaceful transition moves me tremendously every time it happens.

  9. jerrywaxler says:

    Stamperdad,

    Thanks for your ongoing support of my blog. If you bring the same consistency, curiosity, and supportiveness to your kids, tell them they are lucky to have such a good dad. And a philatelist at that!!! You’ve been at this for approximately the same amount of time as I have. I guess 2 years in blogosphere makes us old timers. Stay in touch. And yes, new beginnings. New Year. Now hopes. Plenty more to do.

    Jerry
    http://www.memorywritersnetwork.com/blog

  10. Jenifer says:

    Cool pictures, Steve! I especially like the one of Washington’s inaugural. 🙂

  11. stamperdad says:

    You can reach me via email at stamperdad@yahoo.ca

    Thanks for the nice comments. Glad you enjoy it.

    Steve

  12. Leon says:

    Hello how are you doing? I really like your blog. I would love to speak to you sometime. I am wondering, when you will have some free time? Please, let me know. Thanks!!

Please feel free to leave a comment. Be kind.

