Father’s Day: The True Meaning

What does Father’s Day mean to me? First let me explain my life situation.

I’m 59 years of age and an older father. I have two daughters from a previous marriage both grown up now. The oldest one and her husband will be initiating me to the world of grand-parenting this October with the arrival of their son.

I have three more children with the love-of-my-life. We have a six-year old son and twin daughters four-years of age.

All my children are special to me. The love I get back more than makes up for the hard work involved in being a father. Being Dad is the hardest job I’ve ever had in my life, but also the most rewarding. No one is perfect and I have made my share of mistakes along the way. With the help of my loving wife, I have grown as a parent and managed to get better at the job. Of course there is always room for improvement. Life can be stressful and I need to learn to handle that stress better, but I am always working on it.

My wife and children are asking what I want for Father’s Day. Sleeping in, having an unhurried morning coffee, watching a man-movie, and a nap on the couch are on my list, but likely not in the realm of possibility. Quality time with the kids come Sunday morning is the reality. In the final analysis I can’t think of anything of material value, but just for them to want me to be part of their life and let me love them.

3 Responses to Father’s Day: The True Meaning

  1. stamperdad says:

    Thanks for the kind comments.

    Dennis: I do manage to work in some quiet couch time occasionally. Sometimes one of the girls will cuddle with me. Damian is a go-getter, he’s too busy “running the neighborhood” to cuddle. He will sometimes sit and watch a movie with me.

    The Elementary: It took me a long time to figure out what is important, but now life is good, although busy.

    Best
    Steve

  2. Dennis Price says:

    You are a brave man. Young children require a lot of energy. We baby sit with our grand-children on a regular basis. I enjoy them, but I’m ready in the afternoon when mom or dad come to pick them up. I usually hit the couch for a while before supper. I’m happy you spend quality time with them. Kids need that.

  3. Ah, very nice and so genuinely felt. I’ve seen that consistently in your writing and it’s refreshing to read things such as this. You’ve obviously established what matters in life. How many can stand up and say they are truly happy with the way their life turned out? I wonder. Not as many as we’d like, I suspect. Well done.

Please feel free to leave a comment. Be kind.

