Lethal Injection: Cruel and Unusual Punishment?

The State of Georgia plans to execute William Earl Lynd today by lethal injection. Executions in the United States were stopped for the last year because of an appeal to the Supreme Court. In the appeal it was claimed the method used, lethal injection, inflicted unnecessary pain.

Give me a break!

In this particular case the inmate Lynd was convicted of shooting his girlfriend three times in the head and face in December 1988. After he killed her he buried the body in a shallow grave. He then drove to Ohio and while on his little road trip killed another woman.

This killer has managed to delay justice from his conviction in 1989 until today. During this time he has been fed and housed by the state and his legal rights protected. Before his execution he will receive a last meal of his choice. He has requested two pepper jack barbeque burgers with crispy onions, two baked potatoes with sour cream, bacon and cheese, and a large strawberry milkshake.

How will the state carry out the sentence of death? They will strap him to a hospital gurney and a doctor will insert an IV in his arm. To end his life a three-drug cocktail will be given to him through the IV. The first drug is a painkiller designed to dull his senses. In effect this killer will feel nothing.

I don’t think the same can be said for his victim, Ginger Moore. She was brutally shot. The bullets destroyed her head and face. Did she get a last meal of her choice? Did she die painlessly without trauma? I think not. The protesters who will invaritably be demonstrating against this execution need to think of Ginger Moore while they are carrying those placards around.

The death penalty or capital punishment needs to be renamed. It is not punishment or a penalty, but rather a way society can ensure the William Earl Lynd’s of the world never hurt anyone ever again.

Postscript: I was going to include a picture of the scumbag Lynd, but I couldn’t bring myself to post it.

7 Responses to Lethal Injection: Cruel and Unusual Punishment?

  1. Mada says:

    Sure, blame the age when it suits you! No worries on this end.

  2. stamperdad says:

    Sorry I was having a senior moment. I’m entitled because I turn 59 this Friday.

    Steve

  3. Mada says:

    While I agree with what TheElementary said, they weren’t my comments! LOL

  4. stamperdad says:

    Good point Mada. The solution sure isn’t easy.

    Steve

  5. I think those in favour of and those against the death penalty both have to agree that the convicted criminals get more protection for their human rights than do the victims. That’s the real issue and it needs to be solved. We have taken the justice system to an extreme with how we treat criminals and it’s tragic that victims come second. And I know that where I come from, 16 year olds who commit atrocious crimes won’t be named because they’re too young.
    Too young to be named and shamed but not to commit murder. Doesn’t make sense.
    I admire the way you restrained yourself in this piece of writing. It’s not easy.

  6. stamperdad says:

    Appreciate your comments. Thanks

    Steve

  7. I have to say I agree with you…sometimes I think we (“we” meaning the justice system) considers the criminal more than the victim. And by the way, I applaud your use of Ginger’s name…one thing I always marvel at is how people remember the names of killers and not who they killed. It is a sad, sad thing.

Please feel free to leave a comment. Be kind.

