Commuting: Heaven or Hell?

Okay so maybe it’s not heaven, but it sure can be hell. As one who is forced to commute from the burbs to a workplace in the downtown core I was wondering what the experience of others is or has been.

In my case I have a brief five-minute drive to the transit train station, then a 25-30 minute ride to my stop in the core. I walk about three blocks to my office from the station. The parking at the station is free, at least so far. there is talk that the transit authority my force users to pay to park. The transit system here consists of above ground light-rail transit and buses. The Light-Rail system has been in operation since 1981. Parking at the stations has always been free.

Sometimes, especially when the thermometer dips sharply in the winter, the trains are late or are taken out of service temporarily.

Overall I am satisfied with the service. I use the time to read or listen to music. Making it productive time makes the commute go faster.

Driving downtown for me is not an option for a couple of reasons. One parking is either too expensive or not available, and the stress of rush-hour traffic is unbearable. What’s your experience? Leave a comment.

7 Responses to Commuting: Heaven or Hell?

  1. stamperdad says:

    Were the train cars as packed as we see sometimes in pictures and shows about Japan? Glad you had a good experience anyway.

    Thanks to all for all the comments.
    Steve

  2. Auria Cortes says:

    Respect is overrated, Donald. 🙂

  3. Donald says:

    Try commuting in Japan. Fast efficient on time and respectful to commuters. That’s my experience when I visited my son in Nagoya Japan.

  4. stamperdad says:

    Auria – how lucky you are. When I retire in about 6 years I too hope to not be commuting even for parttime work.

    Appreciate your comment.
    Steve

  5. Auria Cortes says:

    Oh, I run a virtual business. I haven’t been stuck in traffic for years – close to ten.

  6. stamperdad says:

    For me driving to the station eliminates having to wait, sometimes up to 1/2 hour, for connecting bus. Also taking the bus to the station is an option, but would add at least 20 minutes each way to the commute.

    Thanks for your input.
    Steve

  7. I love taking the ‘T’ to downtown Boston. I’ve always loved public transport, even when I used it to travel to work. I suppose it depends where you live.
    However, coming from Europe, I have to admit that public transport is harder to come by here. I grew up in a remote country area yet a bus passed my house twice a day to go into the city. It still does. I can’t grasp the concept of having to drive to the station; it very much defeats the purpose, at least for me.
    All I can say is that when I have used it here, I find it efficient, cheap, fast. Just a bit wistful that it isn’t common enough here.

Please feel free to leave a comment. Be kind.

